university press audiobooks
Home  |  Titles A-E  |  Titles F-P  |  Titles Q-Z  |  Authors  |  Categories  |  Narrators  | About UPA  |  Contact  |  Search
Atheism Explained
Live Nude Girl
Script Culture and the American Screenplay
The Natchez Indians
Maxwell Motor and the Making of the Chrysler Corporation
minimum width for cell
Hillary Rodham Clinton
Slavery and Frontier Mississippi, 1720-1835
Hear My Sad Story
What Galileo Saw
Following Oil

Balanchine VariationsBalanchine Variations

Nancy Goldner

Narrated by Celeste Lawson

Available from Audible

audio sample
This file is 2.6 MB.

Book published by University Press of Florida

Artistic profile of one of the twentieth century's great choreographers.

The literature on Balanchine is vast, but it is primarily biographical. Balanchine Variations is the first book to concentrate on the ballets themselves, providing critical analysis and detailed descriptions of what the dancers actually do.

Beginning with Apollo (1928), Balanchine's first extant work, and ending with one of his last ballets, Ballo della Regina (1978), Nancy Goldner offers detailed insights into more than twenty individual ballets. Based on lectures given across the United States, under the auspices of the Balanchine Foundation, they are intended to illuminate his art.

Goldner discusses the history of each ballet, places each in the context of Balanchine's life and sensibility. She also addresses his taste in music and whether his style can be considered particularly American.

The ballets Balanchine choreographed for the New York City Ballet are danced by companies around the world, and this innovative book is sure to become an indispensable guide to dancers and spectators alike.

Balanchine is a registered trademark of the George Balanchine Trust.

Nancy Goldner is a former dance critic for the Christian Science Monitor, The Nation, Philadelphia Inquirer, and Dance News.


“Immensely—that's how much I enjoyed the walks through twenty-two of Balanchine's ballets on which Nancy Goldner took me! I look forward to strolling with her again whenever I'm about to go see one of her Balanchine ballets.”

—George Jackson

“For the lay audience, this is an excellent introduction to watching Balanchine (and by extension ballet) guided by a thoughtful and articulate guide. For students of dance and balletomanes, it delves into details of craft, history and performance in a manner that elucidates as well as it entertains. ”

—Rose Anne Thom



1928 Apollo

1929 Prodigal Son

1934 Serenade

1941 Concerto Barocco

1946 The Night Shadow / La Sonnambula

1946 The Four Temperments

1947 Theme and Variations

1954 The Nutcracker

1954 Western Symphony

1957 Square Dance

1957 Agon

1960 Donizetti Variations

1962 A Midsummer Night’s Dream

1967 Jewels




1967 Valse Fantaisie

1972 The Stravinsky Festival

Symphony in Three Movements

Stravinsky Violin Concerto

Divertimento from Le Baiser de la Fée

Duo Concertant

1978 Ballo della Regina

All titles are published by:
University Press Audiobooks
an imprint of Redwood Audiobooks

University Press Audiobooks